Lyn McCrea Memorial Drawing Prize Lyn McCrea Memorial Drawing Prize

Friday 20 October - Sunday 26 November 2017



30 Finalists announced
Lyn McCrea Memorial Drawing Prize 2017 
Official Opening and Winner announced: Saturday 21 October, 5pm

Special guest: 2017 Finalist judge QUT Art Museum Curator, Kevin Wilson.

Free event, all welcome. Cash bar available.

All Welcome

Dedicated to the memory of the late Lyn McCrea (1944 – 2015);
contemporary visual artist, art educator and art collector.

The Lyn McCrea Memorial Drawing Prize was established by John McCrea in 2015
to honour Lyn’s passion for drawing as fundamental to visual arts practice.
The prize is a national award held annually and is open to all practicing
Australian contemporary artists.
The aim of the prize is to promote excellence in contemporary Australian drawing.


The 2017 finalists are:

Pauline Adair, Kym Barrett, Zela Bissett, Kerry Blackwell, Peter Breen, Pat Cale,
Glenise Clelland, Robert Clinch, Jim Cox, Nicole Crosswell, Janice Dunlop,
Wendy Epp, Ruth Horton, Helen Lawson, Michelle Maclennan, Deb Mostert,
Jane Parker, Alan Pirie, Beatrice Prost, Trevor Purvis, Jan Rae,
Agnieszka Ragankiewicz Wyspianska, Phil Rolton, Michael Simms,
Kym Tabulo, Greer Townshend, Sam Vatovey, Pam Walpole, Marg Watt and Angelique Wavés.


The 2017 prize winner will be determined by guest judge Kevin Wilson, Curator, QUT Art Museum.


The overall prize winner will be awarded a $3,000 non-acquisitive cash prize donated by John McCrea.
The People's Choice Prize of $1000 is sponsored by Friends Noosa Regional Gallery